Thursday, March 7, 2013

This is what Road Runner Sports thinks is customer care?

Every so often I like to imagine what I'll do to keep busy post-retirement. Jeff wants to perform at Sea World as the Scurvy Pirate Mime. As for me, I think I'll write complaint letters, calling out companies when their customer service is really bad.

Here's what made me think of this. For my birthday, Jeff ordered a Bosu ball online and paid extra in shipping to make sure it arrived in time. Alas, a full week - and my birthday - passed without delivery of the gift. The day after my birthday, Amazon emailed:

We're writing about the marketplace order you placed on 2/18/2013 with Road Runner Sports. Unfortunately, Road Runner Sports has not confirmed the shipment of this order, and we are not able to provide you with shipment details yet.

We quickly replied:

I paid for 2-day shipping in order to receive this in time for my wife's birthday, which has now passed. I would like a refund for the extra money I paid for express shipping, and would like to know when I can expect this.
Very disappointed!

About an hour later, another email from Amazon:

Your order of "Bosu Balance Trainer Home..." has shipped!‏

The next day, Road Runner Sports actually sent us this ridiculous response:

Hi Jeff, 

Thank you for your e-mail. 

I apologize for the delay in shipping your birthday gift out and we if we ruined such event. You deserve to know that the item you ordered was on backorder which is why it did not ship out until the 25th. 

Unfortunately, I will not be able to personally refund you for the extra shipping fee you paid for. Feel great knowing that you can contact Amazon directly at, 866-216-1072. 

I hope that this was helpful! 

If you or your running buddies ever need anything, please don't hesitate to contact a Fit Expert at 1-800-662-8896 for immediate personalized care, as we are here for you at the drop of a dime! 

Have a FEEL GREAT day! 


Ricky S. 
Customer Care Specialist 

I could not resist, and so responded:

Dear Ricky S:

Thank you for your response. I see by your signature that you are a Customer Care Specialist. Do you or anyone at your company understand what Customer Care means?

My husband placed his order with your company on February 18. An entire week passed, without any notice from your company that this item was on back order. Then, on February 25, the following communications occurred:
7 p.m. Amazon sends us an email saying the order still hasn't shipped.
7:12 p.m. We respond, expressing our disappointment
8:23 p.m. We receive a second email saying the item has suddenly shipped. 

And we're supposed to believe this is a coincidence?

And now you send a poorly worded apology, deliver no customer care, and end it with a request that I tell my running buddies to contact you for immediate personalized care? Seriously? I can assure you, my husband and I are more than eager to tell our running and fitness buddies, as well as all of our social media contacts, all about the pathetic experience we've had with Road Runner Sports.

You be sure to have a FEEL GREAT day, too!


Dana Kazel

To his/her credit, Ricky S. wrote back a few hours later:

Hi Dana,

Thank you very much for your response.

Dana, I apologize for such an inconvenience that this has been for you and your husband. You deserve to know that we are a separate company from Amazon and Amazon was the one who took your payment and not us, thus I had advised of you to contact Amazon directly so they may issue the refund for your shipping.

I feel awful for such a bad experience that you've had with us and I implore you to give us another shot; you won't be disappointed! You will be thrilled to know that I have taken it upon myself to contact Amazon directly and they have made the exception to offer a refund through speaking with a representative (myself.) Please allow 1-2 weeks before the payment is posted back on your account.

Dana, feel great knowing that we as a company (Road Runner Sports) strive for the best customer service experience. We offer many amenities in which you as a customer will surely benefit from. Feel free to review our VIP membership program below.

Shall you decide to shop with us and give us a chance, please just reference this e-mail to us and we will be happy to honor an additional 15% off on top of your VIP discount (10% if you sign up.) That's a total of, 25% off plus free shipping!!!

I hope that this was helpful and again, we apologize for any inconvenience.

If you or your running buddies ever need anything, please don't hesitate to contact a Fit Expert at 1-800-662-8896 for immediate personalized care, as we are here for you at the drop of a dime!

Have a FEEL GREAT day!


Ricky S.
Customer Care Specialist

I suppose I could write back and thank Ricky S. for finally doing his/her job, but this person really doesn't get it. It's not Amazon's fault, it's Road Runner Sports' fault.

Thankfully, the story does have a happy ending. My Bosu Ball has arrived and the kids are having a great time with it. 

(Yes, I've worked out with it, too. You just won't be seeing photos of that.) Even better, Amazon refunded us not only the extra shipping cost, but the entire shipping cost.

And I did finally have a FEEL GREAT day. Because guess what else Amazon sent me - an invitation to take an online survey:

Hi Dana, will you please take a minute to share your experience?

Why, yes, I'd be more than happy to!

1 comment:

  1. And you wonder WHY your mother likes to shop in the stores and not on-line?! I still like to SEE what I'm getting in person, and not have to wait for it to arrive. I assume this was the exception, but you're not convincing me to change my shopping style. :>)
    Good for you to confront the situation head-on.